Alaska Pioneer Fruit Growers Association Annual Meeting Minutes – As amended and approved, 12/6/2016 November 10, 2016, BP Energy Center, Anchorage

The APFGA Board meeting and annual membership meeting was called to order at 635pm by Debbie Hinchey, President, after confirming a quorum of the board and membership (Debbie, Mike, Doug, Ken, & Joe were present and >25 of167 paid members, 10%). Minutes from the February 2016 Board meeting were not available for approval. The following 6 paragraphs summarize the annual APFGA report:

Joe Scarso, Treasurer, presented the Treasurer's report. It was noted that the term of the Northrim CD (\$100,000,00) will reach maturity on 11/21/2016 and it was agreed that the Board would confer by email prior to its expiration after receiving recommendations for renewing or beginning a new CD at a different institution. The \$27,971 CD @ Denaili FCU is scheduled to reach maturity in July 2017. Debbie agreed to work with Joe to produce detailed financials for presentation at the December Board meeting.

Plant Materials Committee – Debbie circulated the sign-up list for cherry starts. These starts are supposed to arrive potted and approximately 2' in height. Kevin Irvin will place the orders but other volunteers are needed for receipt and distribution of the plants. Randy Arduser agreed to do it for Anchorage, and Terry Thisius will be asked to do it again for the Valley. Debbie will coordinate.

Apple Press Committee (Mike Carr, Todd Jedlicki) – Mike Carr described the key issues for acquisition of club presses: location and management of their storage and distribution, cleaning responsibilities, and potential damage and repair. Estimated cost is of each unit is in excess of \$2,000. There was broad discussion regarding acquisition of one or two apple presses. No decision or action was taken.

A proposed bylaw change was circulated to the membership prior to the meeting. Debbie briefly described its content and announced that the email distribution would serve as the required 30-day notice prior to a vote of the membership at the December meeting. The proposed changes include: 2-year, staggered board member terms, "Lifetime" paid memberships, and the effective period and rights of paid membership. While there was discussion regarding the content of the changes and of the process, no action was taken. A draft board resolution was also distributed by email addressing implementation of staggered 2-year board terms.

The October apple tasting at the Plant Materials Center in Palmer was discussed and considered a success. Several members expressed support and interest in having tasting events for both early and late ripening fruit, as was done in the past. It was also suggested that these events could be promoted to increase public awareness and the membership of the APFGA.

New board member nominations were opened. After 7 names were nominated there were no further nominations and the following members were elected to the Board:

- Doug Ott
- Terry Thisius
- Debbie Hinchey
- Joe Scarso
- Ken Acton
- Mike Carr
- Susan Miller

Debbie described the need for committee volunteers and several members expressed interest:

Apple tastings – Mark Findley, Mark Wolbers, Val G, Ilona Farr, Diana Evans (data gathering)

Programs -

ANC tours - Gary Masoog, Ilona Farr

Valley tours -

Grafting – no volunteers; Kris (and Todd) did a great job last year but were not present at the meeting. It was noted that the root stock is already ordered. Available grafting materials and tree labels need to be arranged.

Other members said they would be interested in volunteering for board membership next year.

The board and annual meeting was adjourned at approximately 745pm.

Informal program and member reports followed.

After the general membership and program portion of the meeting was concluded, Debbie Hinchey assembled the new board members to elect new officers. By nomination and consensus the following officers were elected:

President	Doug Ott
Vice President	Terry Thisius
Secretary	Ken Acton
Treasurer	Debbie Hinchey

Board member committee assignments were discussed, including:

Joe Scarso	Membership and Website committee s
Susan Miller	Website committee and backup secretary duties
Mike Carr	Fun committee

The meeting was adjourned by new President Doug Ott at approx 830pm

Respectfully submitted by Ken Acton