Alaska Pioneer Fruit Growers Association Board of Directors Meeting Minutes February 9, 2017 4:30 – 6:00 PM Bella Vista Restaurante, Chugiak/Peters Creek

## A. Call to order

Quorum: Called to order at 540pm; Quorum established: Doug, Terry, Ken, Debbie, Mike, Joe, Susan

## B. Old and new business

1. Resolution to adopt the bylaws as revised on January 12, 2017.

Resolve to adopt the bylaws as stated on the last page of the revised bylaws Moved by Ken, Seconded by Debbie; Passed unanimously. Last page of bylaws signed by all (attached)

 Resolution to implement staggered 2-year board member terms at the 11/9/2017 annual meeting with election of 4 members to 2-year terms, 3 members to 1-year terms. (Bylaws Article V, Paragraph 7)

Resolve as stated in the draft resolution (distributed). Moved by Susan, seconded by Joe; Passed with 6 votes for, 1 vote against. Resolution signed by all (attached)

3. Process for collecting suggestions for future Bylaws amendments, e.g. Proxy votes.

Broad discussion re: lessons learned during the 2016 bylaw revision process, retention by the President of a "parking lot" list of suggestions for potential future revisions. Secondary discussion re: validity of "proxy" votes. Consensus:

- It's the board's responsibility to recognize the need and interest for bylaw changes
- The bylaws are silent on the issue of proxy votes and have no basis.

No action taken.

4. Establishment of fee amount for the APFGA Lifetime Membership. (Bylaws Article III, Paragraph 2(c))

Moved by Mike, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Doug to make it \$160, i.e. 10-years of member dues; Motion amended by Debbie and accepted to round to \$150 rather than \$160. Voted down

Moved by Terry, seconded by Mike to establish lifetime dues at ten times the established amount of annual dues at the time the annual membership is paid. Passed unanimously.

5. Honorary annual memberships for calendar year 2017.

Motion to award honorary 2017 memberships to:

- Ira Edwards for his help with apple pressing during the fall of 2016; and
- Erik Johnson and Robert Buchanan for their contributions to the APFGA website, Moved by Debbie, seconded by Joe. Passed unanimously
- 6. Grafting supplies.

Terry located the supplies and has ordered additional and new needed supplies, including labels, parafilm, receipt books, etc.

Moved by Debbie to reimburse Terry for his costs (\$141.18 to date), seconded by Joe; Passed unanimously.

- 7. Status of APFGA newsletter. Who is in charge? Next edition? Shannon Kesting; willing and needs input
- Contact process for notification of members without email. Doug described the number of members without an email address and/or mailing address, and where they reside. Broad discussion on practical alternatives for contacting those without email. No action taken.
- Review comments on Club brochure. Two sample brochures distributed and discussed; need to avoid making it dated

Adjourned at 615pm

Alaska Pioneer Fruit Growers Association (APFGA)

A Resolution of the Board of Directors

Whereas the Bylaws of the Alaska Pioneer Fruit Growers Association (APFGA) were amended and approved in accordance with the rules of bylaws by a quorum of APFGA members on January 12, 2017;

Therefore, by action of the APFGA board of directors be it resolved these bylaws are adopted on February 9, 2017.

President Vice President Treasurer Secretary Director ?, Miller Director Director

Alaska Pioneer Fruit Growers Association (APFGA)

A Resolution of the Board of Directors

Whereas the Bylaws of the Alaska Pioneer Fruit Growers Association (APFGA) were amended by approval of the membership on January 12, 2017; and

Whereas the revised Bylaws state:

"Directors shall be elected to two-year terms, with three (3) Directors elected one year and four (4) Directors elected the following year to allow staggered terms of service on the Board"; and

Whereas the term of all existing Directors will end upon the election of their successors at the annual meeting to be held in November 2017;

Therefore, be it resolved that the election of APFGA Directors in November of 2017 shall consist of the election of three (3) Directors to serve one-year terms, and four (4) Directors to serve two-year terms.

2/9/2017 President Vice President Treasurer Orsecher Secretary Director Miller Director Director Treasurer